The Olive Reading List: May 17, 2013

Here’s a look at some of the things we’ve been reading, watching, and discussing in the Olive studio this week:

UX Myths

I’ll get out of the way and let them say it for me: “Build your website based on evidence, not false beliefs!”
— Erik Norsted (@enorsted)

Discover a new material: NewspaperWood

Upcycling paper to form wood.
— Rob Haskin (@rhaskin)

Play Gauntlet in HTML 5

Okay, so this isn’t a reading post exactly, but it does demonstrate the cool things you can build with HTML5. If you need a reading fix, you can see an in-depth overview of the build process here.
— Peter Robelia (@PeterRobelia)

Why user personas are not enough

User personas are a good place to start, but, in order to create an optimal user experience, you also need to understand their specific website goals, tasks, and context.
— Tom Keekley (@tkeekley)

Software Out, Hardware Start-Ups In

Here’s to the next wave of innovation!
— Tim Buggy (@bugaloo911)

Content Knowledge Is Power

The more you seek to understand your content, the better your work will be.
— Luke Prosser (@lukeprosser)

France considers net neutrality

As designers and developers we feel fully engaged with the web, law makers are, perhaps inevitably, still running to catch up.
— Tieran Haskin (@TieranH)

Exercise? Meh. Here’s a Better Way to Burn Calories

A fun and visual approach to recipes, using iconography instead of complicated instructions.
— Valerie Bradt (@valeriebradt)

Designing With Bacteria.

IDEO Labs is always pushing the limits; bringing life to new ideas. Using Agar, they have literally brought design to life … using bacteria. (I also found this relevant to our new refrigerator policy: eat your food or it will eat you.)
— Michaela Frokjer (@michaelafrokjer)

Olive & Company

Olive & Company

Founded in 2003, Olive & Company has dedicated our existence to a single purpose: providing finely tuned Modern Marketing solutions that drive brands and deliver business results. By helping brands stay in tune with emerging trends and technology, we give them the tools they need to adapt and refine their strategies to better engage and inspire their audiences.